How to Stop People-Pleasing

how-to-solveThere was a time in my life I so desperately wanted to be THAT woman. To have thick callouses and deep tree trunk roots and strong arms that push back and say Don’t Mess with This.

But I’m The Woman with my guard down. Open. Relational. In a sense I love that… in another, I might as well hang a shingle that says Take Advantage.

(Don’t ask me to tell you the story about the time the Craigslist guy drove off with my car and decided not to bring it back. But I guess I just did tell you that story.)

Hello, my name is Bekah, and I’m a recovering Nice Girl. At the age of 30, I’m finally finding my deep roots and strong arms. It’s not because I’m jaded; it’s because I’m realizing that taking care of myself is the best way I can take care of those I love.

So excuse me while I take down my shingle and replace it with this: No More Mrs. Nice Guy.

No really, I mean it. Sort of. Most of the time.

One thought on “How to Stop People-Pleasing

  1. I can’t believe this came to mind. This thought should be held captive there. BUT Assertiveness takes a bad ass attitude at times!

Leave a Reply

