Hope after Abuse

hope-afterabuseFor years I blamed myself for what happened, pushing down the guilt and the shame like a beach ball under water.

Every day was exhausting.

The terrifying, wonderful thing about a beach ball under water, is that eventually it will surface.

And when it surfaced, it wasn’t the lifeline I thought it would be.

When I was done swimming from what hurt so very much, when I was ready to face it and invite Jesus into the pain, he was there to comfort me.

I want you to know, Dear Girl, the one who hurts so much right now… the one who desperately wants healing, but doesn’t know how to trust Jesus with that… he has never left your side.

He has wept every bone-shaking sob with you. And he is ready to walk the rest of this terrifying, beautiful place of healing with you.

Because more than anything, this man… the one who took your shame on that cross…

He wants nothing more than to make you whole.

2 thoughts on “Hope after Abuse

  1. really needed to see this when I did because I was about to throw 5.5 months (the longest ever) of being clean down the drain over the grade of one final. Thanks for helping me pass the moment by having this be in my inbox to read 🙂

  2. Anon, Thank you for sharing that here. Please reach out to someone right where you are who can love on you and care about your pain. Hang in there, friend. You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

