I signed up for a baby, not a 2-year-old

1381809_10151984334617556_155816862_nI signed up for a baby, not a two-year-old.

 I wanted the snuggles and the late-night feedings and the smell of newborn skin.

 I got the “no!”’s and the spaghetti splattered wall and the smell of sour morning binkie breath.

I’m not sure when it happened, but that tiny little late-night snuggler turned on me.

She started having an opinion and sharing it openly, most often in very public places where strangers stared and grandmas shook their heads. 

I’m not sure why I’m writing this in past tense. I’m talking about life now… today… at this moment. 

I signed up for a baby, not a two-year-old.

But you know what? Every morning when that baby-turned-two-year-old wakes me up, she snuggles that little curly head into my shoulder and as I breathe in that sour morning binkie breath, I wonder how I made it through life without her.

Someone said once that being a mother is like having your heart walk around outside your body.

Now if I can just get my heart to quit screaming in public…

One thought on “I signed up for a baby, not a 2-year-old

  1. I’m sure other new moms would agree. Although, I’d have to say that 2 year old boys tend to be worse than 2 year old girls. 🙂

Leave a Reply

