First Impressions vs. Grace

Molly_Bekah
The maxi dress. + The gorgeous sister

I believe in the power of a good first impression. Which is why before I met my publisher’s publicist last week, I shaved my legs. And my upper lip. (This time I even left some eyebrow.)

Also, I bought a new dress, did my nails, and begged my two-year-old not to throw up on, perforate, or otherwise desecrate said new dress.

It was probably too much to ask.

Somehow, I made it to Orlando without one single dress-incident (other than the full-frontal pat-down, courtesy of TSA, thanks to embellishments on my outfit. Good to know they’re keeping the country safe from 98-pound women in maxi-dresses).

I had it all together. Until it was time to actually meet up with the publicist.

At which point I got lost in Universal Studios (turned out I wasn’t even in the park yet), pulled out my cell phone for directions to the meeting, and didn’t notice as my room key and park ticket floated to the ground.

Until I tried to get through the park gate.

Did I mention it was raining?

Nothing like calling your pregnant publicist to come rescue you in a torrential downpour because you have no money and you’ve lost the only belongings she’s asked you to keep track of the entire weekend.

(I cannot make this stuff up.)

I still believe in the power of a good first impression.

I also believe in grace.

So if you’re reading this, dear publicist friend, I thank you for my second chance. Also, thank you for noticing that 98-pound women in maxi-dresses really can take the world by storm.

And if you have any doubts about the truth of that last statement, just consult TSA.

***

Bekah Hamrick Martin is a writer who can be reached at www.facebook.com/bekahhamrickmartin, unless she’s still detained at
the airport.

3 thoughts on “First Impressions vs. Grace

  1. I love the way you write with such complete and utter transparency! I, too, say that these things only happen to me…guess there are more of us out there than I thought! Thanks for keeping it real and making me smile today. Blessings, Mary

Leave a Reply

