Pinterest Primal Urge

chocolate_face

Pinterest.com, in case you haven’t checked it out yet, can be summed up in one word: Guilt.

Sure, there are lots of home organization recipes. And food recipes. And Playdough recipes. And laundry soap recipes. But last time I checked, the corner grocery store is still one block away.

I don’t need 65 cans of tomatoes on my pantry shelf. But somehow my primal urge to stock up for winter by cooking 30 organic, gluten free, dairy-free, non-GMO freezer-meals kicked in while browsing Pinterest the other day.

Guilt.

What Pinterest users don’t tell you when they take those beautiful photos of their fully-stocked freezers, is that half an inch outside the camera lens is a toddler, covered in blue sidewalk chalk, with boogers the size of Texas hanging out of her hair while she whimpers, “Elmo” for the 42nd time in three days.

Also, Mount Taco Bell Trash rises above the countertop, since despite cooking for three days, none of the meals are actually… complete.

I’m trying to reign it in, this primal Pinterest urge. The doctor prescribed cognitive therapy, so if you hear me muttering “Wal-Mart, Wal-Mart, Wal-Mart” 85 times in a row, you’ll know I’m just reminding myself it’s okay that I fell asleep from exhaustion and left the meat from 32 casseroles out on the counter overnight.

 Wal-Mart… Wal-Mart… Wal-Mart…

One thought on “Pinterest Primal Urge

  1. Pinterest is addicting for me, and it’s hard to avoid looking up stuff on it, but then sadly I find that half the stuff don’t work! I’m guiltily of spending to much time on it. 😀

Leave a Reply

